Graduate Student Research Award


The AAMFT Research and Education Foundation confers up to two cash awards annually to assist graduate students in the completion of their thesis or dissertation pertaining to couples and family therapy or family therapy training.


This award may be self-nominated by an AAMFT member or nominated by another AAMFT member. Nominator must submit the nominee’s proposal and a written statement (500 words max) of why the proposal should be selected. Selection criteria for the award include:

  1. Significance of the topic for family therapy;
  2. Quality of the conceptualization and design;
  3. Feasibility;
  4. Availability of support to complete the topic.

In the case of equally meritorious applications, consideration will be given to applicants who have demonstrated active participation in an AAMFT activity. Examples, in addition to AAMFT membership, may include such activities as volunteering at a conference, being a presenter at a conference, or a poster presentation.

Letter of Recommendation

All self-nominations require a letter of recommendation to be submitted with materials.


The award consists of:

  • A cash award up to $2,500 per recipient;
  • An engraved plaque presented at our Annual Conference;
  • Reimbursement of up to $1,000 per recipient for travel to the Annual Conference;
  • The conference registration fee will also be waived for the award recipient(s).

*The AAMFT Foundation will reimburse up to the total of $1,000 for economy class airfare, transportation to/from airport/hotel, meals per AAMFT allowances for the one day of the ceremony, and one night's hotel stay at one of the AAMFT conference hotels (at the special discounted rate) for the night of the ceremony. You must submit itemized receipts upon your return from the conference. Alcohol will not be reimbursed.

How to apply: In order to qualify for this award, interested candidates must complete an online application.   

Note: The AAMFT Annual Conference registration fee will be waived for all award recipients. In order to avoid the perception of a conflict of interest, anyone who is on the AAMFT, the AAMFT Foundation, or AAMFT sponsored payroll is ineligible to be considered for an award so long as that financial relationship exists.  All award recipients must be members of AAMFT with the exception of those receiving the Excellence in Media award, and at least one author of the Outstanding Research Publication award must be a member.

2021 Award Recipients

Marissa Mosley 
     Sapna Srivastava  


Past Recipients of the Graduate Student Research Award

  • Aimee Hubbard (2020)
  • Morgan Lancaster Strickland (2020)
  • Sarah Wolford (2019)
  • Allison Rayburn (2018)
  • Stephanie Armes (2018)
  • Angelique Foye (2017)
  • Kayla Reed Fitzke (2017)
  • Megan Ferriby (2016)
  • Bridget Sanchez (2016)
  • Megan Oed (2015)
  • Amy Claridge (2014)
  • Ashley Landers (2013)
  • Erica J.W. Kanewischer (2012)
  • Adam M. Moore (2009)
  • Lisa Zak-Hunter (2009)
  • Faith Drew (2008)
  • Mary Sue Green (2008)
  • Elise M. Cole (2007)
  • Ebony Joy James (2006)
  • Sean Davis (2005)
  • Kelly A. Blasko (2003)
  • Yael R. Ebenstein (2003)
  • Katherine A. Hertlein (2002)
  • Stefani Hendrick (2001)
  • Stephanie Walsh (2001)
  • Michelle R. Ward (2000)
  • Steven Kogan (1999)
  • Charette Dersch (1999)
  • Beth Spring (1998)
  • Timothy Ozechowski (1998)
  • Jane F. Dye (1997)
  • Gary M. Diamond (1996)
  • Maryann Sheridan Walsh (1996)